British Airways seat reviews

2016-09-07
4.5 of 5
Seat80K
FromWashington, DC - Washington Dulles International (IAD)
ToLondon - London Heathrow (LHR)
A window seat without a real window, but that is really the only downside. Unlimited legroom with direct aisle access as a result. The seat is a tiny bit narrower than the average A380 economy seat, but still wide enough for me (32" jeans width).
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2016-08-19
4 of 5
Seat70A
FromLondon - London Heathrow (LHR)
ToLos Angeles - Los Angeles International (LAX)
Enough space for legs but there is no window, good seat
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2016-08-06
5 of 5
Seat81k
FromSingapore - Changi (SIN)
ToLondon - London Heathrow (LHR)
Paid the extra £31 to choose this seat 2 days before the flight- was easy to do, wanted to experience the upper deck as not been on A380 before. In a party of 5 who had the seats behind: 82j & k and 83 J and k. We're pleased we had. Airbus is very comfortable- the seats width snd legroom seemed on a par with our 777 flight in prem econ to Hong Kong- so seemed good value. We got the usual blanket but also toothbrush which was nice extra. Service from both stewards was great- polite, efficient and quick. Entertainment system was good and worked very well. Liked that the seat rest goes up which makes it easier to get in and out. The 5 inches of extra room on the window side is a great help as is the window side boxes which stored our hand luggage and duty free so no need to put things under chairs which meant all the legroom was for legs. Got 6 hours sleep so figured the night flight mode and quietness of this back cabin was good. The stewards do go up and down but didn't interrupt my sleep. Quieter aircraft than 777 and the cabin at the rear on upper deck is smaller in rows of seats so feels more like prem econ. The 2 back seats in 83 which carry the bad seat wRning on seat guru were fine for our teenagers. They weren't bothered by the galley at all and enjoyed the flight a lot. Would say being on upper deck was worth it.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2016-07-28
3 of 5
Seat7b
FromLondon - London City Airport (LCY)
ToKill Devil Hills - First Flight (FFA)
The legroom was surprisingly good. BUT it was the same as Economy - so why pay extra for Business?
AND - London City Airport has no BA Business Lounge.
However - note the service and food were very good.
So in summary paying for Business Class on this route is a rip-off, except for the on-flight service.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2016-06-30
1.5 of 5
Seat38E
FromLondon - London Heathrow (LHR)
ToLos Angeles - Los Angeles International (LAX)
I often have to travel long-haul flights due to my job. This was my first time travelling long-haul with BA. I've never been treated as badly in my life. Most but not all of the crew were ignorant towards me and my fellow passengers. They were unhelpful and couldn't have cared less about us. I will never fly with BA again. I am disgusted at the treatment I received from them. BA have a big name but I can assure you will be treated much better and actually enjoy your flight on smaller carriers. BA need to start training their crew like that of the wonderful polite and helpful crew on Aerlingus and Virgin.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2016-06-17
4 of 5
Seat72B
FromLondon - London Heathrow (LHR)
ToJohannesburg - Oliver Reginald Tambo International (JNB)
Photos
I was very exited to fly on the a380 for the first time. Didn't really know which seat to take when i read all the comments here. So me and my partner decided to take a twin seat on the upper deck (72A-72B).
The plane itself is nice and gives an impression of space. Very quiet and smooth on take off.

When it comes to the seat I'm not sure. 72A has got 2 entertainment boxes underneath the seat in front which don't really disturb since there's space on the left of the seat to put your left leg. Leg room apart from that is nothing special compared to other airplanes. It's ok as long as the person in front of you doesn't recline his seat to the maximum.

Overall a very nice and quiet plane but the seats and legroom are nothing special.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2016-06-14
4 of 5
Seat83J
FromJNB
ToLHR
I had the window seat and my daughter the aisle seat of this Twin combo on the right side of the British Airways A380-800 aircraft. We swapped mid-flight so that my daughter could sleep while resting her head on the luggage bin.
I am 5'10" so generally suffer in Economy seats on long haul flights but I was suitably impressed with BA's A380-800's seats, which were roomier than Virgin's. Despite the entertainment box, about which many complain and that occupied part of the legroom space of my window seat, I was able to extend my right leg alongside the body of the aircraft and the seat in front so the box did not present an issue, at all.
The back-rest of the seat in front was broken and kept springing backwards but, apart from one jolt to my leg while I slept, this did not affect me in the least. Because our day had started at 4.00 a.m. with a four-hour drive and a 2.5 hour connecting flight, I was suitably tired when boarding our overnight A380 flight and, perhaps, any anticipated inconveniences became inconsequential.
However, while I am a huge B747 fan, I can confirm that our A380 was a lovely, clean, smooth and quiet aircraft, our steward was a great entertainer and the flight was a pleasant experience, overall. The window provided a great view outside and of the enormous wing to the front.
Our steward kindly warned us that because we were in front of the galley, there would be noise for one hour into our flight but, following dinner service, the curtain would be closed and peace prevail.
The cabin crew did not bother us with their dinner preparations. However, a couple of passengers irritated me as they pushed through the curtain, leaving it slightly open for the light to glare through. Each time, I was forced to close the gap in the curtain to return the cabin to darkness.

One should be mindful of the fact that because these seats are at the back of the aeroplane, the recline is not as great as those in the rest of the cabin, so these should be avoided if this is an important consideration.
The luggage bins in the Upper Deck were a huge asset since we always travel light with hand luggage and, therefore, did not require the overhead lockers.
BA's caterers are superior to the South African caterers who provided the JNB to LHR leg's food. The food was bland and uninteresting and I was surprised to find that they had provided margarine instead of butter! We selected the Ovo Lacto Vegetarian option and, for some reason, airline caterers seem to think that Vegetarians eat only pasta and fruit! Fruit for dinner and the same fruit for breakfast!
While the LHR-JNB leg's food was superb - and, yes ... included a delicious pasta meal - the JNB-LHR leg's menu was disappointing.
Two sets of toilets to the front serve the back cabin, which was small and intimate. Perhaps, because it was an overnight flight, there was not a constant footfall to the toilets, the sound of flushing, banging of the doors or blast of light into the cabin as the doors were opened and closed.

Many would not choose the rear seats but we found them to be perfectly acceptable. Perhaps, we were lucky with our particular cabin crew and fellow passengers or the fact that it was a red-eye flight. Whatever ... I do not have any complaints.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2016-06-03
4.5 of 5
Seat22k
FromLondon - London Heathrow (LHR)
ToLos Angeles - Los Angeles International (LAX)
Love the A380, felt more relaxed and not at all snuffly on arrival at LA. Paid extra for seats found 22k lacking in leg room due to unmoveable box where I wanted to put my feet. It is a window seat but short on view as the wing is ENORMOUS!! So, if you want a good window view go further back or upstairs. HOWEVER, there are minor issues. Overall the flight was full to the brim,cabin crew excellent,and listening to the American customers they were all extatic at the FREE in flight bar, not something they are used to. Love BA just wish I could DO 1st class!!Maybe next time.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2016-05-26
5 of 5
Seat53B
FromWashington, DC - Washington Dulles International (IAD)
ToLondon - London Heathrow (LHR)
Great plane. Excellent crew
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2016-03-30
3.5 of 5
Seat51B
FromLondon - London Heathrow (LHR)
ToMexico City - Internacional Benito Juarez (MEX)
A great seat because the 'A' seat is missing due to the tail narrowing the aircraft. This gives more room to the left of the seat and means that only one person needs to be disturbed when you need to get out to walk around or use the bathroom
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes