SWISS seat reviews

2016-11-13
3.5 of 5
Seat8K
FromNew York - John F Kennedy Intl (JFK)
ToGeneva - Geneve-cointrin (GVA)
Swiss biz needs some sort of retrofit facelift. Service is still excellent but the cabin and seats are " low energy".
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2016-05-10
3.5 of 5
Seat42A
FromZurich - Zürich-Kloten (ZRH)
ToTokyo - New Tokyo International Airport (NRT)
As mentioned by others, all the horror stories about Swiss proved to be false or highly exaggerated.
In order:
- freezing cold cabin: false. Most passengers - including me -wore only shirts
- food not good: false. As good as any Economy class, maybe slightly better
- narrow space for legs: false. As narrow as any other coach class, maybe a couple cm more than the average
- entertainement box limiting leg room: partially true, but not so annoying as someone wrote.

Now the good:
- very friendly and efficient staff. They passed several times during the 12h flight to distribute water, ice cream etc
- on time, even 30' earlier at the return flight
- relatively comfortable seats: the Recaro chairs, despite quite narrow, proved to be much better than others (Air France being the absolute worst here)
- cheaper than the competition
- Two 23 kg pieces of baggage allowed in Economy
- easy on-line check-in
- Zürich airport: efficient, clean, fast transfers via monorail, free WiFi

The less good:
- Entertainment system: as mentioned by others it's late 80's technology: small screen, no touch, low-res. It freezes and hangs up from time to time (sometimes as long as half an hour). But the movies selection is really excellent, much better than others. Not so good the music. Horrible flight real time info (the usual maps showing plane's route), much worse than others.

Will I fly again with Swiss? Definitely yes, but I hope that the new 777 planes arrive quickly.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2015-08-11
3.5 of 5
Seat44K
FromZurich-Zürich-Kloten (ZRH)
ToSan Francisco, CA-San Francisco International (SFO)
Leg room was ok. (Caution there is a entertainment box under the seat in front of 44K this means your öegroom is a bit less than on 44J or others.) Entertainment is good but no USB charger. Food was not awesome but ok. The sounds of the toilet are not loud! (I did not hear them) The only 2 bad things are that you will get food as last and there are People waiting for the toilet next to the seat.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2015-01-13
3 of 5
Seat29J
FromNew York-John F Kennedy Intl (JFK)
ToZurich-Zürich-Kloten (ZRH)
I must admit I am spoiled. Flying regularly Swiss Business Class (had an upgrade on the flight to New York. On the return I had not only coach, but Edelweiss Air instead of Swiss. You can feel they are normally a holiday airline. I didn't get the super duper treatment I normally get as a status client / frequent flyer. Now to the seat : ok for legroom. normal economy class. Rather narrow to my taste. Near the toilet (lot of traffic ). Plus, I had a seat neighbour (what Swiss and lufthansa normally avoid with their status clients )
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2014-09-13
3.5 of 5
Seat23A
FromZurich-Zürich-Kloten(ZRH)
ToMiami-Miami International Airport(MIA)
Seat 23A is a bulkhead seat. I chose it hoping to have more legroom, being 6' 2" tall. It was nice not having anybody in front of me, but the inability to stretch my legs out at all was bad. I had to periodically stand up and remain standing for the 10 hour flight. Also the seat is narrower to accomodate the video screen and tray table which stow into the armrest. Entertainment options were awful. Unusable. Entertainment controller was beaten up and well worn. It was pretty easy to stand up and get past the guy sitting next to me though. I don't know if there is a lavatory immediately in front of my bulkhead (the curtain was closed), but I smelled a significant odor of that strange bathroom toilet chemical they use. It came and went, but was a little annoying). For coach, the food was great. Got served food twice, ice cream, hot towels, numerous drinks, and some Swiss chocolate. I was VERY pleased. SWISS airlines are awesome. Better than Lufthansa and blows any American brand out of the water! If you're tall, the seat to have is 23D. I was green with envy.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2014-07-09
2.5 of 5
Seat26D
FromZurich
ToAthens-Athens (AHN)
my biggest problem was people leaning seat back made it very tight. very difficult to get up and go to bath room
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2014-05-04
5 of 5
Seat33D
FromZurich-Zürich-Kloten (ZRH)
ToSingapore-Changi (SIN)
This was my first time flying with Swiss Air and after this wonderful experience, I will certainly choose Swiss Air again! The flight stewardesses were warm and friendly, the food was great, the choice of in-flight entertainment fabulous and the announcements in English were very clear. My number one choice for sure!
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2014-05-04
5 of 5
Seat33D
FromZurich-Zürich-Kloten (ZRH)
ToSingapore-Changi (SIN)
This was my first time flying with Swissair and after this wonderful experience on flight 1885 seat 26C (Bucharest to Zurich) and flight 178 (Zurich to Singapore), I will certainly choose Swissair again! From the warm smiles of the flight stewardesses and from the way they interacted with the passengers, one could tell they truly enjoyed their jobs and everything they did was from the heart. The announcements in English were also very clear (unlike on other airlines), the food was great and the choice of in-flight entertainment was fabulous!
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2014-05-03
2.5 of 5
Seat31k
FromNew Delhi-Indira Gandhi Intl (DEL)
ToZurich-Zürich-Kloten (ZRH)
It's is Always a problem when the person in front of you lean backwards. Do it like Chathey Pacific. The backsite is not moving. No problem woith the neighbour behind you.
At noght only water was provided. Once an hour or less. That was very poor. A little snack, a cookie or chrisp is at least what I expected. Like other companies do.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2014-03-26
3.5 of 5
Seat27D
FromZurich-Zürich-Kloten(ZRH)
ToAmsterdam-Amsterdam-Schiphol(AMS)
Comfortable, clean aircraft. Storing magazines and safety instructions behind headrest in seat is a good idea - more leg room!
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes