Air Canada seat reviews

2014-05-31
4.5 of 5
Seat18D
FromToronto-Lester B. Pearson International (YYZ)
ToNewark-Newark Liberty International (EWR)
This was my first time being on Embraer 175 flight from Toronto to NJ. Can't say much but it was fantastic travelling in this aircraft. Redesigned seats, personal TV monitor, nice leg room, and above all, the overhead bins can take a good size hand carry small suit case. The PA system is marvelous - so crisp and so clear. I wish I had couple of more hours on this flight.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2014-03-19
3 of 5
Seat61A
FromLondon-London Heathrow (LHR)
ToRichmond-Vancouver Intl (YVR)
The seat benefits from being in a 2 rather than 3 at the rear of the aircraft. There is a large space between the seat and window which is useful for storing a small bag and keeps the space under the seat infront free for legroom. The seats are narrow on the new high density 777 and would be a tight fit for larger passengers. Legroom isn't great but I had no issue being 6ft in this seat. The downside of being sat so far back is that you get served last with food and drink and in my case there was only the vegetarian meal left when the meal service got to my seat. Seat back inflight entertainment was good and had USB point.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2014-02-14
4.5 of 5
Seat2A
FromSan Francisco, CA-San Francisco International (SFO)
ToToronto-Lester B. Pearson International (YYZ)
I had upgraded to Air Canada's Executive class and It was well worth it. Very nice flight crew. Extra legroom due to a cutout in the bulkhead. Great selection of movies and shows. Food was great too.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2014-01-13
3 of 5
Seat18G
FromEdmonton, AB-Edmonton International (YEG)
ToToronto-Lester B. Pearson International (YYZ)
Won't travel on this plane again. Observations:
Cons
If you are over 6" and weigh more than 200lbs, you will not fit in economy. Entire layout is designed for 5"11 & under 180lbs. Which is curious because the head room is ~10-11ft - crazy. You can stand comfortably if your 6'8, but can't sit. Another oddity; the overhead bin does not accommondate carry on's that are 1CM over lentgh minimums. Mine is .5CM (measured) over published Air Canada minimums and would not fit in overhead bin, even though on all Airbus, Embraer, Bombardier models the carry on fits fine. Ridiculous. Not sure on other rows, but the touch button control of lights etc. is on the inside of the armrest so rest assured your leg will often trigger lights on/off inadvertantly. Saw others with controls on the armrest itself (top) and heard complaints. If comfort/practicality are important, avoid this model.
Pros:
-lighting is good in cabin
-head room
-entertainment
-premium economy looks tolerable - not sure on $$
-business class loses the pods - still looks ok, not sure re impact on overseas/overnight
-engines are quiet and have a distinct hum
-capacity - 458, should allow more to travel at time/route of choice

Bottom line, not comfortable/useless economy, woudl avoid flying it again (Air Canada 77W-300ER-3 Cabin Configuration, unless i was in Premium Economy or First Class.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2013-10-19
3 of 5
Seat#NA
FromToronto
ToMunich
My partner and I flew this plane on Air Canada from Toronto to Munich and back again. The flight to Munich, we were in seats 18J&K and on the way back we were ... um ... upgraded to 12A&C.

You can clearly see this is an attempt to add more per-flight profit just by virtue of increasing the number of seats. Unfortunately, this means a few things for passengers: First Class features fewer seats meaning those seeking a Status upgrade are less likely to be successful. Premium Economy gets you the First Class food, but not the wine & liquor selection - and is only really worth the extra expense if you get seats A, C, H or K ... D, E, F, G are not really worth it in my opinion. The seats are more comfortable (mind you, I'm 5'6" so the overhead bin would be comfortable for me) than Economy, but the middle row still seemed crammed. Economy ... was ... just ... terrible. Even for a shorter guy like me, I was uncomfortable for the duration of the seven hour flight - my heart went out to the guy beside me who was easily over 6'.

Unfortunately, the additional seats do not mean additional storage for carry on - so the overhead bins fill up VERY quickly.

On the plus side, there seems to be an upgrade of the entertainment equipment and the front-row seats have a much better piece of folding hardware. The screen can be tilted more freely now when you unfold it from your seat to get a better viewing experience. Plus it is touchscreen.

Overall, my experiences on this plane had me lamenting for when flying was part of the joy of travelling. What was once Economy is now Premium Economy (sort of), being loyal to one carrier gets you less in-flight perks and those with the foresight of travelling light find themselves unrewarded for their courtesy.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2013-05-05
5 of 5
Seat15d
FromDenver-Denver International (DEN)
ToToronto-Lester B. Pearson International (YYZ)
amazing amazing aircraft. 2 wide seating, big overhead bins, lots of leg room, seat width was great and the headrest tv also great. perfect window height and view. My wife had 15 d and I had 15 f. My favorite plane to fly due to the above and the planes are new.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2013-04-12
3.5 of 5
Seat#NA
FromToronto-Lester B. Pearson International (YYZ)
ToMadrid-Barajas (MAD)
The seats were not very comfortable and there was not much leg room sitting in the standard seats. A trip of 8 hours in these seats is torture
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2012-11-20
4.5 of 5
Seat1G
FromFrankfurt-Frankfurt International Airport(FRA)
ToCalgary, AB-Calgary International Airport(YYC)
I had a terrible cold the day I had to fly and the business class f/a sprang into action, making sure that I was well hydrated with plenty of tea. She even added ginger from her own private supply. I was very grateful for this extremely attentive service. 1G has no view towards a window whatsoever, but has the advantage of being one of the first seats to be served in flight.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2012-08-08
5 of 5
Seat2F
FromToronto-Pearson (TOR/YYZ)
ToHouston-Intercontinental (IAH)
Awesome. Pretty Awesome. Because Air Canada Express' CRJ-705 has the Executive Class. Let's visit Houston, Texas too!
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2012-08-08
4.5 of 5
Seat1F
FromCalgary (CGY/YYC)
ToLos Angeles (LAX)
The Executive Class is Unique! One seat on the left and Two seats on the right! It's better than small general aviation! That kind of aircraft is boring.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes