Air Transat seat reviews

2017-06-11
2.5 of 5
Seat 17c
From Manchester airport
To Vancouver airport
The second time I have flown with Air Transat and the flight entertainment was good the food was passable but nothing to shout about. I would have liked to have had coffee offered more than once on the 10 hour flight though
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2017-04-08
2.5 of 5
Seat 10J
From Toronto - Lester B. Pearson International (YYZ)
To Varadero - Juan Gualberto Gomez (VRA)
finally got a vacation. Thank god that transat was there. it was fairly nice at least better than inuit.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2017-02-12
3 of 5
Seat 16K
From Hamilton - Hamilton (YHM)
To Higuey - Punta Cana International (PUJ)
I have flown Air Transat for years. I now pay extra for emergency exit seating as the regular seats are too close together for leg room. This is common with all carriers. I have yet to experience a negative situation. I do not find the seat width an issue as much as the seat depth. 737-800's do not have the club seats you try out at Transat Travel Agencies so for a 6ft male adult, Regardless of the legroom, I spend the entire flight sitting only on my tail bone
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2017-01-10
3.5 of 5
Seat 11c
From Toronto - Lester B. Pearson International (YYZ)
To Roatan - Roatan (RTB)
No issue with the seat itself, my biggest bef is when the seat in front of me reclined it felt as if it was right in my face, which is not a good feeling for a 4 hour plus flight
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2016-11-15
4.5 of 5
Seat 45a
From Montreal - Montréal-pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport (YUL)
To Barcelona - El Prat De Llobregat (BCN)
I only have praises for the personnel. The service was great and so was the food. The seats are a wee bit narrow, for me at least (I'm 240 pounds). For the rest, kudos!!
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2016-11-13
3.5 of 5
Seat 15k
From Toronto - Lester B. Pearson International (YYZ)
To San Jose Del Cabo - Los Cabos (SJD)
Excellent leg room......will get this one again
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2016-09-10
1.5 of 5
Seat 14k
From Montreal - Montréal-pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport (YUL)
To Marseille - Marseille Provence Airport (MRS)
The worst fly I've been, While the siége 14k is sold optional eco plus, it is the narrowest that I have never seen, even on low-cost. In the plane kitchens and a part of toilet were removed to put more of seats : thus it is sandwich and tail in toilet during the flight. A choice of bad and old movies and a completely made lose interest staff adds.... In brief a company to be avoided.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2016-08-15
4.5 of 5
Seat A
From Gatwick
To Toronto - Toronto Pearson International (YTO)
First time for us on Transat.
Very pleased with service and comfort, very pleasant crew. We fly a lot with all manner of companies and these are ahead of the majority, will be happy to use again.
Only fault, get some much better eye pieces
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2016-08-08
2 of 5
Seat E
From Richmond - Vancouver Intl (YVR)
To Amsterdam - Amsterdam-Schiphol (AMS)
We paid 1100 CAD pp RT to travel last week of July 2016 to Amsterdam. Around this time, the next lowest cost option for a direct flight was about 1400 CAD pp RT.

Flight departing from YVR left on time but the flight departing from AMS was delayed by 40 minutes (pilot announced that the delay was because of busy airport). Baggage was received in time in both flights.

Seat width is very narrow. We considered paying for the better seats but there is no point. Emergency seats have slightly more legroom BUT the food tray and entertainment screen are tucked inside the arm rest and underneath the seat respectively. This makes getting in and out of the seat a challenge. Do expect the seats to be worn down or have rips. Since there is no wiggle room, sleeping is not easy at all.

Decent selection of movies and other options.
if passengers ahead of you recline then your knee will hit the seat.
Planes have mood lighting which was softer for the eyes.
Flight attendants can be rude to you or grumpy. Not sure how much training they go through to answer your questions and attend you in the politest way possible.

Food is average - a small sandwich is served which doesn't fill your appetite for a 9-10 hours flight. About 1.5 hours prior to landing, a small snack (pizza slide in both of our flights) with drinks was served. So we def. recommend purchasing a hot meal from the airport for the flight.

Conclusion: it's not a bad flight for the price but if you can pick another airline then don't fly air transat. however, you will be surprised that 70-80% of the plane is filled. they are definitely hitting the sweet spot in price. Also, if your body is wider than average, you might need to request for their widest seat or consider another airline.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2016-04-08
3 of 5
Seat 12
From Ottawa - Ottawa Macdonald-Cartier International (YOW)
To Cancun - Cancún International (CUN)
The Air Transat 737-800s we flew in both from Ottawa to Cancun and back were two slightly different versions of the same plane. I am 6' 1" and the knee room was barely adequate. In the first version, the magazine holder had been cleverly moved up to behind the headrest to provide a fraction more knee room. On the version returning home, the magazine rack was in the usual place, compromising the already severely limited knee room. Our seats had absolutely no recline ability.

Our flight was delayed by 45 minutes because a computer in the cockpit had crashed. Once it was repaired, the flight data had to be reloaded.

Overhead storage was very large and easy to access. The cabin was relatively quiet and the lighting was good. Having three washrooms was a bonus.

In row 12, for some odd reason, there are no windows. There is no seatback entertainment, but a number of drop down screens so everyone had to watch the same movie.

Air Transat service was excellent and the landings on both ends were stellar.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes