Virgin Atlantic seat reviews

2016-10-31
4.5 of 5
Seat8a
FromLondon
ToDelhi
Very comfortable seating. Loads of room to store the usual personal bits and pieces. Liked the new entertainment system. Very easy to operate. Food choice excellent as was the food itself. Got a very good night's sleep on the flat bed
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2016-09-17
1.5 of 5
Seat#NA
Fromsfo
Tolhr
My first Dreamliner trip, that i had been looking forward to with Boeing's hype that it was designed to be passenger friendly. I was enticed by Virgin's low economy fare to connect with BA all the way to India. What a mistake! The seats are cramped ( I have travelled internationally for 50+ years). The food was sub-par; the breakfast was a token croissant with a smidgen of "cheese?".
Never take a window seat. the arm rest against the window does not lift up; prevents you from getting that extra hip room at the window; I got a two day lower back pain from being immobilized for this 10 hr flight. I recommend an aisle seat and annoy everyone by getting up and walking around often.
the seat cushion had no give. (they should replace them every 6 months); the plane floor was filthy at the end of the flight because passengers could not pick up anything that fell on the floor during flight (no room to bend down to retrieve anything)
Message to Virgin : use a 2-4-2 seating for flights longer than 4 hours!!
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2016-08-27
1 of 5
Seat65J
FromSan Francisco, CA - San Francisco International (SFO)
ToLondon - London Heathrow (LHR)
Probably the worst long haul flight I have experienced, with the most uncomfortable, hard seats with no lumbar support. The 3-3-3 configuration is way too cramped. The food was inedible, and Virgin IFE very poor with mostly old films. We will never use virgin again, having paid for specific seats, which we never had, staff who ignored all requests to sort the problem, so far no reimbursement for the specific seat payment. Overall, the 2nd worst long haul flights over 50 years of flying
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2016-03-27
2 of 5
Seat66A
FromLondon - London Heathrow (LHR)
ToLos Angeles - Los Angeles International (LAX)
In Virgin's hands this aircraft is anything but a Dreamliner!! They have desperately crammed far too many economy seats into the cabin which just makes for an thoroughly uncomfortable flying experience. It needed a 2-4-2 configuration rather than the 3-3-3 they have gone for. Another terrible factor is the toilet situation. Some idiot decided to only put one set of toilets in the cabin which creates big queues and chaos if they are trying to serve food as the aisle space is too small for anyone to pass with a trolley there. They need to send these aircraft back to Boeing, pull out the last two redundant centre rows and install two more toilets for the rear of the aircraft. Very bad planning when they originally designed the layout of these planes. The Virgin experience has been getting steadily worse for years, largely due to the impact of Delta's shoddy business practices taking over the airline and cost cutting measures. After flying this LHR-LAX route on the 787 I have turned in my flying club account and won't be flying Virgin anymore after nearly 20 years of travel with them. If you haven't already booked your ticket then dont, fly someone else until they buck up their ideas and put the focus back on the customer experience.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2016-02-14
4.5 of 5
Seat4K
FromLondon - London Heathrow (LHR)
ToDelhi
Photos
The Upper Class seats on this aircraft are great. This seat (it's more than a seat) has an amazing entertainment system on a swivel that you can adjust just about any way you wish. The seat fold over into a full bed, though it was a little short for my 6' body. My only complaint on this is the small fold down drink tray (not the dinner tray). This tray is on your right hand side and sits behind your shoulder so it's not easy to reach. Overall this it is a pleasure to ride in this seat
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2015-09-02
4 of 5
Seat66J
FromLos Angeles-Los Angeles International (LAX)
ToLondon-London Heathrow (LHR)
Impressive aircraft overall but was spoilt by the fact that the food tray is poorly designed, the second fold out part slants downward which makes anything on it slide off onto ones lap thus making it unusable especially for drinks. This wasn't helped by the fact that the passengers in front insisted on having their seats fully reclined for the whole of the journey. The evening meals were delicious but the breakfast was appalling, the yogurt was 'off', this was queried by other passengers but was dismissed by cabin staff as being OK. Most people including ourselves avoided eating it. We found the service poor compared to other flights, at one point when drinks were being dispensed, we had to eventually go and ask for ours as the section had been missed. Also, apart from after meals, there was no other collection of waste which left the whole of the aircraft in a disgusting state. Unfortunately, travelling on the Virgin Dreamliner didn't meet our expectations and we were left feeling quite disappointed with the experience.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2015-04-28
4 of 5
Seat20F
FromAtlanta, GA-Hartsfield-jackson Atlanta International (ATL)
ToLondon-London Heathrow (LHR)
Excellent seats. Not too loud ( near galley, rest room )
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2014-11-11
5 of 5
Seat9A
FromLondon-London Gatwick (LGW)
ToLas Vegas-Las Vegas (LVS)
Excellent flight. Virgin's Upper Class is exceptional. Very comfortable lie flat seat (with sleep bedding if desired). Nice "jump seat" allows companion dining. Surprisingly good food and beverages. Wide choice of entertainment options. Caution selecting row 6 or 7 as these lack overhead bins. Area around all seat "suites" lack sufficient storage space. Only way to go very long haul!
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2014-08-28
4 of 5
Seat2K
FromMiami-Miami International Airport(MIA)
ToLondon-London Heathrow(LHR)
Felt a little claustrophobic in the shoulders bc of the wraparound dividers. But I AM claustrophobic and 6-4, 235. I dreaded how confining the bed would be, but it worked fine; very happy with it. used to sleeping with one foot off. But prefer the old style front to back seats. For example, BA.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2014-07-11
4 of 5
Seat6A
FromLas Vegas-Mc Carran Intl (LAS)
ToManchester-Manchester (MAN)
The only negative of this seat is that there is no overhead locker. Stowage space wasn't a problem though. 6A and K are close together, so if you are a couple they are a good selection. No passing traffic, so very peaceful.
Seat reclines well but the footrest is quite small, if you are tall and your feet go all the way into it. This is the same for all the new upper class seats, not just row 6.
I'm 6'2" and I could stretch out in the full flat bed and get a good nights sleep.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes