Virgin Atlantic seat reviews

2019-11-30
4 of 5
0 Helpful votes
Seat 7A
From Manchester - Manchester (MAN)
To Atlanta, GA - Hartsfield-jackson Atlanta International (ATL)
Chose to fly this route on 747 (Ruby Tuesday) for nostalgic reasons as opposed to a newer aircraft out of Heathrow but regretted the decision pretty quickly.
Delta/Virgin still using the small Escape Plus lounge at MAN so you lose out on the Virgin Clubhouse experience or will until at least Spring 2020 when I believe the new Delta/Virgin clubhouse will open at Ringway.
747 Cabin is looking and feeling old although it was nice to be one of only 14 Upper Class passengers on board. My seat had an issue with reclining smoothly but it was not a big enough issue to complain about. Steward told me that they may not retire the 747s next year as planned following earlier reprieve due to extra passenger volume caused by collapse of Thomas Cook. If they are kept in service they should be refurbed IMHO.
Received the usual fantastic service from Virgin cabin crew but that was offset by the absence of access to free Gogo WiFi via T-Mobile phone plan. Apparently only available on newer aircraft.
Last time on this aircraft for me I think unless they are modernized.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2019-11-18
2 of 5
0 Helpful votes
Seat 48a
From Walsall
To New York - John F Kennedy Intl (JFK)
This plane was not up to the normal expected standard for a long flight. The seatwas not functioning correctly and reclined itself and the armrest.st cover was detached and caught on my sleeve. The seats had also been fitted with loose covers that did not fit correctly. The leg room was as tight as I have ever experienced, not good. The crew repaired the armrest with tape. Again not good and there. Wa,s no apology. They gave us a menu but then our choice was not available. Wiĺ not be recommending this. Virgin model it was second rate
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2019-11-12
4 of 5
0 Helpful votes
Seat 21D
From Heathrow
To Johannesburg - Oliver Reginald Tambo International (JNB)
Seated behind the snack bar wall with lots of leg room which are reseved for disabled and only bookable at checkin if no disabled require them. But foot rest is brought to you after take off and monitor stowed away until take off or on landing so you can't view it at those times.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2019-11-03
3 of 5
0 Helpful votes
Seat 47a
From London - London Heathrow (LHR)
To Los Angeles - Los Angeles International (LAX)
Photos
Tried economy delight for the first time. My row was behind exit seats. Good leg room, however it makes little difference if someone in front reclines their chair far back. There should be as limit on how far back seats can recline. The food was not good in particular a steak pasty served half way through the flight. It had more pastry than anything else and was quite small. The alleged afternoon tea was served before landing. Very disappointing!! The scone was small and cold and served in a cardboard box. The roll needed more mozerella.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2019-10-24
5 of 5
0 Helpful votes
Seat 68G
From HEATHROW
To Boston - Logan International (BOS)
Photos
Great seat. Full recline and no one behind you to worry about. No toilets at the back so no people loitering. Plus it's quite entertaining watching people mistaking the galley behind for the toilets!
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2019-10-24
1.5 of 5
0 Helpful votes
Seat 43G
From London - London Heathrow (LHR)
To New Delhi - Indira Gandhi Intl (DEL)
The seats are hard. The pitch is not good. I am 5ft 4in and the leg room just alright for me. 43G is not bothered by noise from the toilets. However, due to the isles being narrow - just wide enough for the trolley, my seat was nicked at least four times by trolley.
Too many economy seats have been put in making it an uncomfortable experience.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2019-10-17
5 of 5
0 Helpful votes
Seat 25C
From IAD
To LHR
First trip on Virgin Atlantic. Very impressed overall. This will cover my overall experience to/from London. Service was exceptional. All of these folks truly seem to love their jobs were a true delight to interact with. What a change from several attendants who seemed truly miserable on my last transatlantic flight via United.

The dinner and "high tea" were excellent. Enjoyed the WonderWall on the way back, it was quite popular. A simple touch that gives you a little treat and sense of control over your food/drink options.

As for the seat itself- I'm female of average build . Chose seat 25C (Premium Economy) because it would allow me to recline without bothering others behind me. Was a bit nervous whether it would really recline fully. Can happily report it does and it was great to stay fully reclined entire flight without worrying about how it was for a seat mate in back. I was so happy with it, I tried to switch my seat on the way back to the same one, but it was filled. There is plenty of leg room at the bottom at all times, but with the passenger in front of me reclined, my knees were nearly hit. (I'm just 5'4"). This was a surprise. When the window seat person next to me had to get out to go use the toilet, it was VERY difficult - way too tight a squeeze between reclined seat in front of me and my seat for her to squeeze past. (She wasn't very large either, just not tiny.) It's a tough situation. If you pay so much extra you clearly want to enjoy the comfort, but to provide enough space for someone to pass by a reclined seat, you would need to add several more inches, which I'm guessing would end up boosting up the price significantly. I would definitely fly VA again and choose Premium Economy. However, if I was a lot taller, I'd want to check with others first how it is to have the seat in front of me reclined.

Checking in at Heathrow was a breeze. No one in front of me to check bags, they offer a separate line for Premium Economy. (This was deciding factor for me between VA and Brit. Air). Security was much more thorough at LHR than IAD , but went fairly fast, about 8 mins. (I'm Global Pass, but that's not recognized at LHR.)
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2019-10-11
5 of 5
0 Helpful votes
Seat 14a
From Gatwick North London
To Barbados
On my 5th trip on the same route this has been the comfiest yet not that the others were bad but this excelled all my expectations as a large person it’s hard to get comfortable even the seatbelt fitted with room for adjustment there was at least 2 meters leg room as it was at the entrance/exit there was no obstruction whatsoever even the arm rest at the window was some 4 inches away from the wall it was so roomy definitely this is the way to travel (without going 1st class) on a long haul flight and with Virgin Atlantic the best
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2019-10-01
5 of 5
0 Helpful votes
Seat 37G
From Manchester - Manchester (MAN)
To Orlando - Orlando International (MCO)
Sat here with my family on Row 37 DEFG and despite reading negative comments, this seat row is excellent choice.Seat reclines back 6-8 inches and because of bulkhead behind , you’re not disturbing fellow passengers. Also because of bulkhead, nobody is pressing on tv screen behind you searching for movies/music etc.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2019-09-30
2 of 5
0 Helpful votes
Seat 40h
From London - London Heathrow (LHR)
To Atlanta
Tried ++ times to bk premium econ, quoted £721.00 went to pay told 1700.00 then 2930.00 pp round trip, tried at airport £295 !! Only 1 seat available , not good when 2 of us travelling....ended up just economy...gutted...poor service from newmarket travel agents n virgin
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes