Virgin Atlantic seat reviews

2019-10-24
5 of 5
Seat68G
FromHEATHROW
ToBoston - Logan International (BOS)
Photos
Great seat. Full recline and no one behind you to worry about. No toilets at the back so no people loitering. Plus it's quite entertaining watching people mistaking the galley behind for the toilets!
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2019-10-24
1.5 of 5
Seat43G
FromLondon - London Heathrow (LHR)
ToNew Delhi - Indira Gandhi Intl (DEL)
The seats are hard. The pitch is not good. I am 5ft 4in and the leg room just alright for me. 43G is not bothered by noise from the toilets. However, due to the isles being narrow - just wide enough for the trolley, my seat was nicked at least four times by trolley.
Too many economy seats have been put in making it an uncomfortable experience.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2019-10-17
5 of 5
Seat25C
FromIAD
ToLHR
First trip on Virgin Atlantic. Very impressed overall. This will cover my overall experience to/from London. Service was exceptional. All of these folks truly seem to love their jobs were a true delight to interact with. What a change from several attendants who seemed truly miserable on my last transatlantic flight via United.

The dinner and "high tea" were excellent. Enjoyed the WonderWall on the way back, it was quite popular. A simple touch that gives you a little treat and sense of control over your food/drink options.

As for the seat itself- I'm female of average build . Chose seat 25C (Premium Economy) because it would allow me to recline without bothering others behind me. Was a bit nervous whether it would really recline fully. Can happily report it does and it was great to stay fully reclined entire flight without worrying about how it was for a seat mate in back. I was so happy with it, I tried to switch my seat on the way back to the same one, but it was filled. There is plenty of leg room at the bottom at all times, but with the passenger in front of me reclined, my knees were nearly hit. (I'm just 5'4"). This was a surprise. When the window seat person next to me had to get out to go use the toilet, it was VERY difficult - way too tight a squeeze between reclined seat in front of me and my seat for her to squeeze past. (She wasn't very large either, just not tiny.) It's a tough situation. If you pay so much extra you clearly want to enjoy the comfort, but to provide enough space for someone to pass by a reclined seat, you would need to add several more inches, which I'm guessing would end up boosting up the price significantly. I would definitely fly VA again and choose Premium Economy. However, if I was a lot taller, I'd want to check with others first how it is to have the seat in front of me reclined.

Checking in at Heathrow was a breeze. No one in front of me to check bags, they offer a separate line for Premium Economy. (This was deciding factor for me between VA and Brit. Air). Security was much more thorough at LHR than IAD , but went fairly fast, about 8 mins. (I'm Global Pass, but that's not recognized at LHR.)
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2019-10-11
5 of 5
Seat14a
FromGatwick North London
ToBarbados
On my 5th trip on the same route this has been the comfiest yet not that the others were bad but this excelled all my expectations as a large person it’s hard to get comfortable even the seatbelt fitted with room for adjustment there was at least 2 meters leg room as it was at the entrance/exit there was no obstruction whatsoever even the arm rest at the window was some 4 inches away from the wall it was so roomy definitely this is the way to travel (without going 1st class) on a long haul flight and with Virgin Atlantic the best
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2019-10-01
5 of 5
Seat37G
FromManchester - Manchester (MAN)
ToOrlando - Orlando International (MCO)
Sat here with my family on Row 37 DEFG and despite reading negative comments, this seat row is excellent choice.Seat reclines back 6-8 inches and because of bulkhead behind , you’re not disturbing fellow passengers. Also because of bulkhead, nobody is pressing on tv screen behind you searching for movies/music etc.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2019-09-30
2 of 5
Seat40h
FromLondon - London Heathrow (LHR)
ToAtlanta
Tried ++ times to bk premium econ, quoted £721.00 went to pay told 1700.00 then 2930.00 pp round trip, tried at airport £295 !! Only 1 seat available , not good when 2 of us travelling....ended up just economy...gutted...poor service from newmarket travel agents n virgin
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2019-09-27
4 of 5
Seat42K
FromManchester - Manchester (MAN)
ToAtlanta, GA - Hartsfield-jackson Atlanta International (ATL)
The service on the flight could not be faulted, the seats however.... We paid for the Economy Delight for extra leg room which was great, however, the seats were really narrow.

I was sat in the middle of a row of 3 and my partner is 6ft and sat by the window and then a large american guy sat next to me. I spent the whole flight uncomfortable and struggled to eat the meals as I couldn't put my arms at my side. I also couldn't sit straight on as there was so little room i had to sit slightly side on.

I was really disappointed as I have had more room on a Jet2 Short haul.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2019-09-23
3 of 5
Seat61F
FromLondon - London Heathrow (LHR)
ToJohannesburg - Oliver Reginald Tambo International (JNB)
The seat was comfortable for an economy seat. The recline position of the seat was adequate. The food was typically poor quality airline food. The service provided by the staff was excellent. The entertainment sound system was awful and should be improved to satisfy the passengers.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2019-09-18
3.5 of 5
Seat10k
Fromheathrow
ToHong Kong - Hong Kong International (HKG)
Photos
I flew VA upper class from Heathrow (T3)to HKG on a 787-9. My trip didn't get off to a good start. The check-in staff at the airport counter acted like an immigration officer and I was made to feel like an illegal alien trying to leave the country. Anyway, back to the positive, The best part about flying Virgin at Heathrow is they have a private security channel and it only took me 3 minutes to go through security.
Once on board the flight, I was greeted by a not so friendly flight attendant. When I show her my boarding pass, she told me in a stern voice that she didn't need to see it if I knew where to go (just not my lucky day) It would have been nicer for her to just point to where my seat was. The rest of the crews were fine and the main attendant was lovely.
I sat on seat 10K on the right-hand side of the cabin near the bar. A tip for seat selection; always pick seats on the left side (row A) where there's a lot more privacy and you don't have to spend your flight looking at other passenger's feet.
The seat itself was comfortable and the food was good. I would have prefered the more traditional Business class seats offered by most other airlines but VA prices are quite a lot cheaper than other airline's business class, i.e. Singapore and Cathay pacific.
I don't' know if I would fly upper class with VA again. This was my second time flying with VA upper class and I just don't think their service is as good as the other airlines.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2019-09-13
2.5 of 5
Seat25H
FromChristchurch Barbados
ToManchester UK
Staff as usual smart looking and efficient. Food was awful tasting and cold. Both dinner and breakfast.
I am 100 lbs 5.2 and I found the seat very hard and uncomfortable especially for 9 hour night flight. Leg room almost non existent. Not looking forward to my return trip home I am to be this uncomfortable again.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes