Virgin Atlantic seat reviews

2017-09-01
3 of 5
Seat66C
FromLondon - London Heathrow (LHR)
ToSeattle, WA - Seattle-Tacoma International (SEA)
Standard economy seat width, although just comfortable enough for what it is. Seat had normal recline with the advantage of no one behind. Just as well considering that the woman in front reclined during take off and stayed that way during most of the flight, clearly irritated by the cabin crews instructions for her to sit up during meal service. Seat pitch is 'standard' 31" although I was able to stretch my legs out under the seat in front and I'm 6'2".
Service was good, in fact better than I've experienced on previous transatlantic flights with Virgin. The food and drink seemed to keep coming. The location next to the galley didn't really cause any issues and the lack of a toilet at the back was a blessing for the lack of other passengers passing by. It was however a farce in the middle of the aircraft with continual queues and people loitering around row 21. Presumably some had paid extra to sit in these seats, if so I'd have wanted a refund. In many ways being at the back was nice for being 'out of the way'. Don't like the 3-3-3 configuration, it really doesn't make sense and inevitably forces families apart and strangers next to you in the already narrow economy seats. A 2-4-2 would make far more sense. Overall no more comfortable than anything else I've travelled on. Fancy coloured lighting and bigger windows are ok to look at but a wider seat would be nice when spending 10 hours on a plane. The problem is that going economy one expects nothing special and so gets nothing special.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2017-05-09
5 of 5
Seat5G
FromGatwick North Terminal
ToBridgetown - Grantley Adams International (BGI)
Having always upgraded to Virgin Premium Economy, we decided this year to upgrade to Upper Class. It's just a different world. From the moment we arrived at checkin, to the Clubhouse lounge, to boarding ... it was certainly first class. The service of our cabin crew was absolutely fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble and we were certainly looked after.
If I had to find something to grumble about anything in my experience of flying Upper Class, and this is definitely just me being picky, would be the overall layout of the cabin.
I booked two seats which I was led to believe would be facing each other, having been given this choice or one in front of the other. My husband and I decided that it wold be nicer to be able to converse if we were looking st each other rather than talking over the high sides of the Upper Class booth type seats. However, the design of the cabin means that 5G it not opposite 5K.
After a bit of seat swapping with another couple who were also slightly disappointed with the layout, we ended up sitting beside each other talking over the booth sides.
Apart from this ... we loved it and would highly recommend flying Virgin Upper Class if funds allow.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2017-05-07
3.5 of 5
Seat62h
FromLgw
ToBridgetown - Grantley Adams International (BGI)
It's pretty close to the bathroom and it can be very troublesome also Virgin made a mistake and a lady and I got the same seat 62k but was moved because she checked-in. but other than that the flight was pretty good
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2017-05-07
4.5 of 5
Seat42f
FromBridgetown - Grantley Adams International (BGI)
ToLondon - London Gatwick (LGW)
Seat was very comfortable, got really cold at one point of the flight, Flight attendants were very helpful and amazing food
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2017-04-11
5 of 5
Seat25G
FromHong Kong - Hong Kong International (HKG)
ToLondon - London Heathrow (LHR)
Despite being the last row of seats in the Premium Economy Cabin, the wider seats still reclined to enable a most relaxing posture for the long haul flight. Easy access to toilets. Will recommend Virgin - our first time experience but impressed v previously used Airlines(for both business and leisure). Cabin crew excellent.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2017-04-11
5 of 5
Seat22G
FromLHR
ToHK
Very satisfied with the cabin design of 2-3-2 seating. Easy access to toilets and forward galley. First time travel with Virgin but will use again- impressed.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2017-02-25
4.5 of 5
Seat78H
FromLondon - London Gatwick (LGW)
ToHavana - Jose Marti Intl (HAV)
These seats are in the upper section of the 747-400 just behind the business class seats in a generally quieter section of the aircraft. Legroom good and less wait for using the toilet facilities - albeit you use the one's in Business class who may not be so pleased that they are having to share these with those who paid less for their fare.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2017-02-25
4 of 5
Seat51H
FromHavana - Jose Marti Intl (HAV)
ToLondon - London Gatwick (LGW)
These seats on the 747-400 overnight flight from Havana are located outside galley/kitchen area so there's constant activity - not a good choice of seat if your planning on trying to sleep on the flight.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2017-01-21
3 of 5
Seat58K
FromHeathrow
ToHong Kong - Hong Kong International (HKG)
Is it me or have Virgin lost their touch? Service adequate but surly, not what
i expected from virgin.
Seat and flight fine much the same as any other, except Quantas. Main issue is interference from behind as seat thin and you feel the person getting their things.
Toillets ok but staff too busy chatting to keep clean until mentioned.
No satnav! Hope pilots worked.
Food good.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2016-11-29
3.5 of 5
Seat61K
FromHeathrow
ToJFK
The seats were fine although the gap between the side of the aircraft and the armrest was a pain and I had to push my coat and fleece down there to make it more comfortable. The food was excellent and plenty of it and the flight was mainly smooth. My main gripe on outbound and inbound, was the lack of maintenance on the film screen/touch screen/handset. They have been used so much that they are worn out and not very responsive unless you press down hard several times. This was most frustrating on the games (Millionaire). Knowing these are probably used a lot, there should be more of a regime to monitor and look after these items.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes