Virgin Atlantic seat reviews

2018-02-14
4 of 5
Seat76h
FromOrlando - Orlando International (MCO)
ToLondon - London Gatwick (LGW)
This seat is in the bubble. Quite comfortable and engine noise reduced upstairs. As there are fewer seats not so much hustle and bustle with passengers walking about.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2018-01-31
4.5 of 5
Seat35A
FromGatwick
ToHavana - Jose Marti Intl (HAV)
Well situated just beyond the toilets and if you don't mind being over the wing.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2017-12-19
4 of 5
Seat50A
FromLondon - London Heathrow (LHR)
ToWashington, DC - Washington Dulles International (IAD)
We did well booking these 2 seats. Almost no issues. Room to stand and stretch. Room to slump and stick the legs out. Once or twice a queue formed for the toilet but no real stress and everyone was polite. Would book again.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2017-12-07
4.5 of 5
Seat52D
FromLondon - London Heathrow (LHR)
ToMiami - Miami International Airport (MIA)
Great aisle seat with plenty of legroom but then I'm only 5'3. No entertainment box which is what you usually get taking up the space under the seat in front.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2017-12-05
3 of 5
Seat59D
FromLondon - London Heathrow (LHR)
ToSeattle, WA - Seattle-Tacoma International (SEA)
I'm 6'3" and I fly transatlantic approx three times a year, but I can't afford to pay for the extra legroom. Having read some other reviews, I wasn't looking forward to this trip with Virgin.

Luckily the flight wasn't that full. In my row of four, there was just me and one other passenger, each with an aisle seat, so we used the middle seats as extra storage. Otherwise it would have been VERY tight. Yes, there's a metal box under the seat in front but it's quite narrow and didn't bother me that much. Leg room was standard i.e. JUST ABOUT enough to squeeze in.

My main gripe is the quality of the padding on the seats. It's so thin! Following this flight I was on a little regional Bombardier jet to Portland and although it felt a little claustrophobic the seat padding was MUCH better. Virgin should up their game here. Sitting on this seat for 10 hours is no joke! My ass was numb for hours.

The food was pretty good, the service was prompt and friendly. No complaints there.

The entertainment was...atrocious. I was reminded of browsing the back corner of a Blockbuster video store from 20 years ago, because there was almost nothing I had heard of. Also, even with the volume turned up to the max, I could barely hear it over the engines. The headphones are good though, far more comfortable than the earbuds you get elsewhere.

Realistically, if Virgin come up cheapest next time I book this route, I'll probably fly with then again. But if competitors are within £100 or so, I'll try someone else.

Overall, not as good as my previous flight with United.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2017-11-15
4.5 of 5
Seat47A
FromLAX
ToLHR
I read other reviews before I selected and paid for my seat and travelled. The seat padding is too thin and makes for uncomfortable seating on a long haul flight from LA to London. A little more would have made a big difference. The foot space is limited by the bulk of the entertainment system which takes up too much space and actually hurts because it is hard and made of metal. The windows are not aligned to the seat, as pointed out by other travellers. However, this didn't make much difference to me as there is a bloody great wing and engine in the way so even if the window was in the 'right' place, the view would be obstructed anyway. The legroom was great and was worth the £50 extra. I liked the bigger windows and the electric dimmer. A better than normal seat and far cheaper than economy plus. Also, I had no-one sat next to me so this helped too. However, the experience was diminished by the ignorant person in front of me who reclined his seat from the time of take off to the time of landing. When are airlines going to make all seats fixed at an upright or reclined position to avoid this frustration?
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2017-11-15
4 of 5
Seat47K
FromLondon - London Heathrow (LHR)
ToLAX
I read other reviews before I selected and paid for my seat and travelled. The seat padding is to thin and makes for uncomfortable seating on a long haul flight from London to LA. A little more would have made a big difference. The foot space is limited by the bulk of the entertainment system which takes up too much space and actually hurts because it is hard and made of metal. The windows are not aligned to the seat, as pointed out by other travellers. However, this didn't make much difference to me as there is a bloody great wing and engine in the way so even if the window was in the 'right' place, the view would be obstructed anyway. The legroom was great and was worth the £50 extra. I liked the bigger windows and the electric dimmer. A better than normal seat and far cheaper than economy plus. Also, I had no-one sat next to me so this helped too.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2017-11-08
4 of 5
Seat20A
FromManchester - Manchester (MAN)
ToOrlando - Orlando International (MCO)
My family and I flew PE from Manchester to MCO late October.
We were - by choice- in the 'bubble' and had front 2 rows.
Very good experience overall. Easy access, good crew and decent service. Bulkhead seats worked well for us and although close to the loos this presented no issues at all.

Wish we could be as complimentary about the return flight which was poor in comparison and included a muppet air steward who refused to exchange a toy my wife bought on board, despite the mistake being 100% his fault ( which he admitted to ). Instead he told her to contact Retail Customer Services by phone, citing some prattle about being within 2 hours of landing! Appalling.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2017-09-20
5 of 5
SeatF
FromGatwick
ToBarbados
Traveled 3-09-17 Fantastic service from flight crew .Food drinks entertainment plentiful .I am 6ft found seats very very comfortable.Flown various airlines around the world .And Virgin is the BEST.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2017-09-01
3 of 5
Seat64C
FromSan Francisco, CA - San Francisco International (SFO)
ToLondon - London Heathrow (LHR)
Ten year old aircraft with entertainment system that was showing its age and wear and tear. I couldn't be bothered with it after about 20 minutes. Standard poor economy seat width and comfort. It was easily wide enough for me to get in but for eleven hours would be nice to have some wiggle room. Comfort is not dissimilar to flying in a 757 to Lanzarote. I can stick that for 4 hours but would expect a bit more for nearly three times as long.
The seat actually wasn't in a bad position given its proximity to the loo. The toliet is right behind the seat but the door is on the other side and its proximity to the galley tended to restrct the number of people going past. The sound of the flush is no greater than for anyone within about 5 rows of a toilet and didn't stop me from dozing off. Normal recline on the seat and I was able to stretch my legs out under the seat in front. Crew were friendly and service was good. The breakfast croissant was 'interesting' and gave the impression of having been stood on prior to being microwaved. 2-4-2 configuration is adequate.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes