American Airlines seat reviews

2019-10-25
4.5 of 5
Seat3H
FromLAX
ToSydney - Kingsford Smith (SYD)
Aircraft is one of the most quiet in the commercial fleet. It was the FIRST lay down seat that did not either force my toes up agains the seat ahead - I’m only 6’, but on LATAM they assume you are smaller I guess. And, there was no annoying bar across my lower back.

Not to mention there were seat controls that actually just WORKED. So many others have you going back and forth to just lay down - I think you need a 400 page manual to operate it!
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2019-10-23
4.5 of 5
Seat9D
FromSydney - Kingsford Smith (SYD)
ToLos Angeles - Los Angeles International (LAX)
Aisle seat was great for getting in and out. This is a seat in the front row of the Premium Economy Section so has the recliner-style footrest, which is much better than the other two rows. I have short legs so my feet don’t reach the other type of footrest which is small. The complimentary headsets were okay, the blanket was great, and the pillow was comfy and a good size.

My food choices were excellent and the beverage selection was also very good.

Cons were the elevation level of the legrest (could be higher), and seat recline angle could have been just a fraction more (there’s enough room, I think, for another couple of degrees). There isn’t much lumbar support and the seat itself feels very hard under your behind after a few hours in the air.

Overall? Much better than economy, and well worth the extra expense if you’re able to get it as an upgrade or on sale. If you’re tall, or quite large in build, I’d say to spend the extra every time. I had a gentleman sitting near me who wasn’t overweight but was tall and with broad shoulders - he said he always goes premium economy because it’s the only seat that accommodates his shoulders without him impacting on whoever’s sitting next to him, but he doesn’t have to go that extra step and buy business. As a self-funded retiree, saving money as well as being comfortable were important to him.

The crew on this flight were lovely, helpful, and polite.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2019-10-17
4.5 of 5
Seat10E
FromLondon - London Heathrow (LHR)
ToChicago - Chicago Ohare Intl (ORD)
American Airlines 91 from LHR to ORD. Very comfortable and lots of leg room. Be warned that it is tight for larger passengers, but it was not excessive for my large frame. As mentioned, storage is in dedicated bins for Main Cabin Plus. Bins, although large and deep are heavy to close. Trays are in side arm, entertainment screen folded into bottom area of seat arm and a bit difficult to access (push straight down on black rectangular knob on inside of arm panel). Screen can be adjusted for view. Good selection of movies, games, music and flight info, including connecting flight list and gate location at your destination. All in all a good seat.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2019-10-09
5 of 5
Seat34h
FromLhr
ToPhiladelphia - Philadelphia International (PHL)
Window seat,trouble with screen was changed to row 12,very pleasant flight food was meatballs with mashed potato ok,plenty of refreshments,in all a rather pleasant flight,attentive staff.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2019-09-16
2 of 5
Seat22b
FromNew Holland
ToNew Holland
seat to small -- no leg room
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2019-09-16
2.5 of 5
Seat#NA
FromPhiladelphia - Philadelphia International (PHL)
ToAtlanta, GA - Hartsfield-jackson Atlanta International (ATL)
I am not a big guy but my legs are long. Leg room is about as bad as it could get. It is like the airlines take no consideration for their customers. There is not any way one can be comfortable on the current seats
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2019-09-12
2.5 of 5
Seat16C
FromLos Angeles - Los Angeles International (LAX)
ToAustin - Austin-bergstrom International (AUS)
It was an uncomfortable 2.5 hr flight. This seat is an upgraded seat (you pay extra for) because it is an aisle seat that is closer to Main Cabin Extra. There was a metal bar that extended from the seat in front of me to the ground. This prevented me from being able to place my feet in a normal resting position on the ground while seated. I had to remove my small purse from under the seat in front of me in order to place my feet in a normal position. It was either that or tilt my foot awkwardly or rest it on my purse. I've never experienced that on a flight before and found it unacceptable. It seemed that most aisle seats were like this and IMO American should not charge extra for these seats. It bothered me that I paid extra and I do not recommend doing so. One is better off in a middle seat. The seat padding felt thin, hard and was uncomfortable for me. I'm 5'6", 135 lbs, and had about 1.5 inches of spare legroom. Even though I had some spare legroom I feel this was one of the most uncomfortable seats I've ever sat in. I do not recommend this seat and certainly don't pay extra for it.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2019-09-12
2.5 of 5
Seat4a
FromCharlotte - Charlotte Douglas (CLT)
ToWindsor Locks, CT - Bradley International (BDL)
Flew first class The flight attendant was polite but at the same time very curt. He only passed the snack basket around once. The plane had leather seats but it was still an older model once again no back of the TV entertainment screen nor power outlet
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2019-09-12
3 of 5
Seat2a
FromWindsor Locks, CT - Bradley International (BDL)
ToCharlotte - Charlotte Douglas (CLT)
First class which was very small only 8 seats total this is an older plane so other than extra room and a couple free snacks because the flight was so short there weren’t really many additional perks. No back of the seat entertainment screen or power outlets.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2019-09-03
4 of 5
Seat3D
FromMiami - Miami International Airport (MIA)
ToParis - Charles De Gaulle (CDG)
The seats faced backward but this was not a problem as it was an evening flight and all of the shades were drawn anyway. You can adjust the seat to make it flat for sleeping, however the area where you place your feet was not very spacious and thus somewhat uncomfortable for me at 5’8”. I wondered what it would be like someone who was taller. Sleeping was not an option since I rarely sleep on planes anyway. The food was not that great (it was just okay) however the service was excellent and very attentive.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes