Aer Lingus seat reviews

2017-08-20
4 of 5
Seat5f
FromShannon - Shannon (SNN)
ToNew York - John F Kennedy Intl (JFK)
"A great seat!"
A decent amount of legroom compared to other seats, it was enjoyable not having anyone in front of me. I loved having a movable monitor and a size adjustable tray. (Both come from your arm rest). I highly recommend choosing this seat. One problem, all of the seats on this aircraft don't recline a great amount.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2017-05-26
3 of 5
Seat40K
FromDublin - Dublin (DUB)
ToSan Francisco, CA - San Francisco International (SFO)
This was my first time on EI-DAA, and while it was okay, it wasn't brilliant. When I boarded the plane, I headed for my seat - 40K.

I was one of the first down the back as I knew the amount of available overhead storage would be abysmal. How abysmal became apparent as there were bins full of cardboard bassinets for people traveling with kids, to locked bins with items for the crew and little space for the paying customers. I managed to get an overhead bin 2 seats up from me that was compartmentalized with 2 spaces - a space sized for one bag and the 2nd space had room for 3 other bags. I managed to get the smaller compartment but others were less successful finding space when they managed to board.

With regards to my seat, I had no-one beside me at takeoff.....but that changed not long into the flight. A lady sitting in another seat experienced a failure with her headphone jack and decided to test other headphone jacks at empty seats and as the jack at the seat beside me worked, I inherited a seatmate who ended up encroaching on my space.

The seat space was tight, given the fuselage does narrow given the proximity to the tail but I had reasonably good leg room and it was a comfy Recaro seats. Once airborne it wasn't too bad but the controller for the AVOD was battered to hell but still functioned.

The location and state of the restrooms left a lot to be desired. From trying to get to any of them when the crew are working, to one restroom running out of paper towels and other passengers flushing items that should have been binned, they were kinda gross by the end of the flight.

Food was okay with the chance to buy snacks but soft drinks were free (I think - I was drinking water) and of course booze was available for purchase.

On the whole, the plane felt old and unloved and the rear galley was sad and in a sorry state. While the crew were okay, it wasn't the best flight I ever had. R.I.P to the Aer Lingus I once knew.

Pros:
Good AVOD choices, reasonably comfortable seating, 2 windows (for those people who like to look out and take snaps)

Cons:
Tight seating (shoulder to shoulder), if the person in front of you reclines their seat you are screwed, poor restroom sizes and locations, poor available space in the overhead bins and sad interior decoration.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2017-05-09
3 of 5
Seat1F
FromDublin - Dublin (DUB)
ToCatania - Fontanarossa (CTA)
Excellent seat with plenty of legroom, dedicated overhead locker for rows 1
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2016-09-20
4 of 5
Seat23e
FromBoston - Logan International (BOS)
ToShannon - Shannon (SNN)
Aer Lingus shows the row as emergency row aft of the restrooms. Close, but instead it's a non-reclining row just forward of the lavatories.

Comfortable if you're small or have a small neighbor. A pain if the seat in front reclines but s gentle request usually helps.

We had the Asian vegetarian special meal and it was very good.

Overall, not a bad flight - if sleepless. On the positive side we should have the exit row on our return
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2016-05-30
2.5 of 5
Seat19d
FromBoston - Logan International (BOS)
ToShannon - Shannon (SNN)
Seats were so tight it was uncomfortable for a transatlantic flight. Whenever the person in front reclined I could hardly get out of my seat. Food good service was very good. Biggest problem was seating being too small and too close.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2016-05-30
3 of 5
Seat17c
FromBoston - Logan International (BOS)
ToShannon - Shannon (SNN)
The seats were so narrow and as soon as the person in front reclined I was barely able to get out of my seat. Tray too close so couldn't open it properly. Food on the way was good on the way home not so good. Service was very good attentive and polite. Biggest complaint was the small seat for a 6 hour flight.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2016-05-16
4 of 5
Seat24B
FromWashington, DC - Washington Dulles International (IAD)
ToDublin - Dublin (DUB)
24B is actually the Exit row seat (shown on the plan as row 23)
Great amount of legroom allowing you to stretch out during the flight. The seat was a little narrow but didn't cause a problem for myself...a larger size traveler may be uncomfortable.
Very close to the toilets on board (3 of) so people do congregate around the area. (Didn't cause too much of a problem but can be busy at certain times)
The plane is small for a transatlantic flight and this flight was extremely full with only 1 or 2 seats spare.
Food was OK quality (and served quickly) Took a long time to be cleared away though.
As this was an exit row you cannot store any belongings at all on the floor or watch the entertainment system during take off or landing. (This didn't bother me but some flyers like to watch the screens for the full flight)
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2016-04-10
4 of 5
Seat21G
FromDublin - Dublin (DUB)
ToChicago - Chicago Ohare Intl (ORD)
This isn't the first time using Dublin, Aer Lingus and the US Pre-clearance, but it was the first I used the automated entry machines, easy to use but for some reason the CBP guy did the whole finger print thing again when I handed the recipe from the machine to him, the CBP seem to be doing this with everyone.... it seems a waste of time having the machines.
As for the flight the experience was ok, my only criticism was the seat, I found it very uncomfortable after a few hours, the base had no cushion worth speaking of on it, all the seats are the same in economy, it is like sitting on a park bench, I had a muscle on the back of my left leg hurting for a day or two after the flight. The food was ok, as was the service from the crew, I wasn't impressed with the entertainment but that is probably just me. If the seat base had been better the whole flight would have been close to 100% (if flying economy can ever be described that way)

As I only have hand luggage the plus side to flying from Dublin and the using the pre-clearance is that 5 minutes from leaving the plane you can be out of the terminal and on your way.

0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2016-04-01
2 of 5
Seat2H
FromNew York - John F Kennedy Intl (JFK)
ToDublin - Dublin (DUB)
Check in was satisfactory compared to previous journeys I've taken with "world class" airlines such as Delta; Singapore; Emeriates; Ethiad; Turkish and British Airways.
The cabin was dull and there was nothing of interest. I was very disappointed. I was expecting more for the cost of the ticket. Aer Lingus seriously needs to re-think it's cabin interior. I was disgusted when I entered the lavatory. It was of economy standards and looked ghastly compared to the first class lavatory on Emeriates. At this stage of the flight, the food was as I expected; inadequate and unacceptable. I was promised "luxury dining", but I received the contrary. The seat was cramped making an uncomfortable overall flying experience. Thankfully, the flight stewards were very professional greeting me with a smile the moment I stepped on the plane. They were extremely helpful throughout the entire flight and the service was great. The uniform may need to be updated though. If only we could transfer the stewards to a better company.
I will not be travelling with Aer Lingus in the near future and I will not recommend Aer Lingus to any of my colleagues. Issues with the cabin and food need to be dealt with right away and until these changes take place the first class flying community will be utterly disappointed with their time with Aer Lingus.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2015-12-25
4.5 of 5
Seat21G
FromAmsterdam - Amsterdam-Schiphol (AMS)
ToToronto - Toronto Pearson International (YTO)
Average seat, had a low sodium meal, good quality. Service was very good with the flight stewards being kind and attentive. Had enough place for my feet and sat comfortably. Even fell asleep on the upright positioned chair. Only minus was as soon as the person in front of me reclined her seat it was hard to get out of my seat.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes