South African Airways seat reviews

2019-08-12
5 of 5
0 Helpful votes
Seat1D
FromNew York - John F Kennedy Intl (JFK)
ToJohannesburg
We like our stop over at the premium lounge and the ability to relax eat and drink as we waited for our flight. Also, they announced our flight so that we would not continually have to look at our watches. We boarded on time we very little wait after we reached our gate.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2019-04-05
2 of 5
0 Helpful votes
Seat51A
FromNew York - John F Kennedy Intl (JFK)
ToJohannesburg - Oliver Reginald Tambo International (JNB)
The entertainment system at seat 51 is poor. Sound is bad screen is dark and finally crashed mid flight. Luckily I had my iPad. Food is mediocre and only two meals for a 16 hour flight. You can get a sanwhich for snack jbut only if requested. Seat is outdated.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2019-04-05
2.5 of 5
0 Helpful votes
Seat51A
FromNew York - John F Kennedy Intl (JFK)
ToJohannesburg - Oliver Reginald Tambo International (JNB)
The entertainment system at 51A is outdated. Sound system poor and screen dark and finally conkedout mid trip. Food service poor. Only 2 meals for a 16 hour flight. Headphones from the 90’s Meal inedible. You can get a sandwich fir a snack if you ask but it seemed to b a well kept secret. Flight attendants kind and did the best that they could.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2019-01-10
3 of 5
0 Helpful votes
Seat64k
FromJohannesburg - Oliver Reginald Tambo International (JNB)
ToMunich - Franz Josef Strauss (MUC)
The trip was Fairly comfortable for the length of the flight.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2018-12-26
3 of 5
0 Helpful votes
Seat64C
FromEZE
Tojohannesburg
Positives : entertainment system, charging services.

Negatives : Very poor legroom, seats really unusable.
Grumpy air hostess, did her job but no smiles.

I expected a lot from the new A330-300, but the plane is not suitable for air travelbecause of the leg space.

Next time to Argentina I fly LATAM.

Note the A330-200, even though older, was better. Even the air hostess was better.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2017-11-13
3.5 of 5
0 Helpful votes
Seat61F
FromOR Tambo
ToAbidjan
We were changed to Airbus A340-300. This is a good plane. However air-con temperature was very low! The Entertainment gadget was re-set but did not work. Flight was very smooth
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2016-07-04
3.5 of 5

0 Helpful votes
1 Reviews
Seat56g
FromLondon - London Heathrow (LHR)
ToJohannesburg - Oliver Reginald Tambo International (JNB)
The Airbus A340 have more leg room the seat neet a lose cusion to put under your bum , after a time the seat is hard .
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2016-06-16
4.5 of 5
0 Helpful votes
Seat58F
FromJohannesburg - Oliver Reginald Tambo International (JNB)
ToLondon - London Heathrow (LHR)
I'm a man of 2m and weight 120kg. I sat comfortable in the chair. The only problem I had was when the chairs in front of me were reclined I could not get up from my seat. With my next flight I would like my family to sit together, I booked my tickets almost a year in advance and found it strange that the 3 tickets i bought was not placed together on the seating map. Thank you for your service,
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2016-06-07
3.5 of 5
0 Helpful votes
Seat65a
FromLondon - London Heathrow (LHR)
ToJohannesburg - Oliver Reginald Tambo International (JNB)
A larger plane then our trip back but older then that plane , seats are very tall so when person in front reclines you have to aswell or you right up against the seat back , plane was half empty so plenty empty seats around to lounge around in in fact staff came to advise people of this . Food was very nice beef and sauté potatoes , IFE worked ok then went of half way there not to come back on but as an overnight flight mangled to get some sleep staff very good and plenty water available , we arrived on time but as is common in joburg my case did not make it to our connecting flight , but arrived later that day , intact and secure much preferred the 300-200 we came home on as this plane was a bit tired in some places
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2016-06-07
4 of 5
0 Helpful votes
Seat58a
FromJohannesburg - Oliver Reginald Tambo International (JNB)
ToLondon - London Heathrow (LHR)
A nice flight home , seat was wide and a 2 -4-2 configuration means close to an aisle whatever seat your in flight was on time and landed 20 mins early found the ife was better then on way out , food was standard airline food staff where good and efficient ,giving out water with morning drinks run and able to collect more water in middle of the night it's a long flight and found the little bit of space at side of seat good for putting small items there's he airline map to follow the trip was not very good so did not show where you where could have been better but all in all a very good flight
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes