British Airways seat reviews

2017-08-12
4 of 5
Seat70K
FromLHR
ToBOS
Nice exit row seat. Lots of leg room but as noted slightly narrower due to the tray table in the armrest. Also, no loose bags on the floor during takeoff and landing, so all bags have to go in the overheads. There is not really a lot of space overhead either so try and board early or keep carry-ons small. You can't really put bags a row or two ahead as that is WT+ (although a flight attendant could do so for you, I suppose).

The window seat has a tiny magazine slot for the usual inflight info, and there is enough space between the side of the seat and the wall to put a blanket and some newspapers or reading material. Frustratingly, the seat behind has a window storage bin (and also underseat storage) so I guess you could say this layout is a bit of a design failure. On my flight, the passenger behind me was in and out of his window bin perhaps 100 times over a six-hour flight. This was slightly annoying as the "click" of the latch is magnifies my the hard window above and is just a few inches from your ear (even unreclined).

There is no window at this seat (which may or may not be an issue). The emergency exit door itself has a tiny window up quite high so if you are up out of your seat you can sort of take a look, but as the upper deck is far up on the curve of the fuselage, you can't really see the ground well.

Some reviews of this seat mention the "bump" protruding from the exit door and the proximity to the washroom. The bump is not an issue, although you do need to sort of thread you way in and out of the seat (again due to the curved wall as well). The floor area is completely clear (I'm 6'3" and there was room to stretch my legs completely and then probably another 2'). I took my carryon bag down and positioned it as a footrest, which was quite comfortable.

The "bump" makes it impossible for anyone to stand too closely in front of you, so while the queue for the washroom might be a bit of a problem for the aisle seat, it's not a problem for the window. There are two washrooms at the front of this section and then two more at the back (which also serve the smaller rear section).

This was a BA Economy flight, so pleasant and professional service but every year it is lower value. Now there is no snack with the first drink service, and the "lunch" an hour before arrival was a bag of crisps. The meal itself was just OK - very average.

I would rate this seat much better than the WT+ (Premium Economy) seat one row ahead on the aisle. While that seat is slighty wider, it has less legroom, almost identical food service (BA has brought back the better cutlery due to competition but the food itself is no better). That seat is much too close to the washroom, however. You could almost put your hand on the toilet seat with the door open while sitting in your seat. That's just horrible - especially for a "premium" seat. (Virgin's 787 has a similar set of Economy seats. There really should be a law that you can't be served food within at least two metres/yards of a toilet seat. Awful
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2017-07-11
5 of 5
Seat10J
FromRichmond - Vancouver Intl (YVR)
ToLondon - London Heathrow (LHR)
Seat 10J is a forward facing seat. It is an optimal seat for Leg room as there isnt anyone in front of you. An added bonus is that no one will climb over you to leave their seat. As you are the first row in Business on the main deck, you are always served first which is brilliant!
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2017-06-15
3.5 of 5
Seat37A
FromAtlanta, GA - Hartsfield-jackson Atlanta International (ATL)
ToLondon - London Heathrow (LHR)
This was an exit row seat by the "window" except there really wasn't a window there (the closest thing was the peephole in the exit row door, several feet in front). For an overnight flight this was actually fine for me. This seat does seat kind of close to toilets but there's a lot of space around it and the nearby toilet wasn't a bother. The left wall intrudes on side legroom a bit, but unobstructed space to the front and to the side so room to stretch legs and easy to get in and out despite the relative seclusion of a "window" seat. Seat reclines OK. All in all, a fine seat for a red-eye flight
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2017-04-24
4 of 5
Seat1A
FromHong Kong - Hong Kong International (HKG)
ToLondon - London Heathrow (LHR)
1A 1K are probably the best seats on the A380, both First suites. Proximity to toilet and galley was not a problem as food is prepared in the galley at the back of the cabin. Problem is a door next door which made a lot of noise on take off and when there was turbulence. The aircraft is more noisy that one assume. I did not find it that quiet as some people claim.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2017-02-13
3 of 5
Seat51E
FromJohannesburg - Oliver Reginald Tambo International (JNB)
ToLondon - London Heathrow (LHR)
Dreadfull, the seat is reasonably comfortable providing you stay still. Any kind of movment is problomatic due to the confined space. Prior to and during takeoff, and during meal service one is virtually face to face with two people who may be strangers. Added to that is food being passed over your fellow passengers to you. When everything is stowed, retreiving anything is a nightmare, especially when the bed is flat. Also the toilet becomes a challenge, clambering over the legs of a fellow passenger who may or may not be asleep. Definitely the worst seat configuration in business class have ever encountered. I have flown round the world several times, and flown between the UK and USA/ SA frequently with various airlines. This crew were professional and courteous, but somewhat distant. The food was at best average, but running out of vegetarian meals and fruit on an aircraft which was by no means full seemed a bit odd. The 380, my first, was very impressive, with a decent seat configuration it could be a winner. These particular toilets were excellent, as was the wine. BA needs to do better, will not be using BA for longhaul business class until that configuration is changed.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2017-02-06
2 of 5
Seat2A
FromSt Petersburg - Pulkovo (LED)
ToLondon - London Heathrow (LHR)
So many people squeezed in, there was no room to move legs in Business Class; Worst flight I ever had.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2016-12-15
3.5 of 5
Seat80J
FromLondon - London Heathrow (LHR)
ToMiami - Miami International Airport (MIA)
Seat and area in front of it very roomy; multi-plug electrical outlet at seat grouping is useful; entertainment selection fairly limited; food OK; service very professional; seat divider not movable. Here's something strange: seat dividers in other seats do not move entirely out of the way--hard to stretch out when seats are empty.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2016-12-11
3.5 of 5
Seat81a
FromHeathrow
ToSingapore - Changi (SIN)
I had researched seating prior to booking and choose these seats for the leg room. There was one box under each seat in front (exit seats) rather than 2 box's under the window seat. Over all i was happy with my choice but in general i thought the seats were quite hard and maybe could do with new cushioning. The storage box by the window was a great space saver . Food was average and drinks were plentiful. The cabin was quiet and the lighting was very good.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2016-11-29
5 of 5
Seat3K
FromMiami - Miami International Airport (MIA)
ToLondon - London Heathrow (LHR)
Amazing seat and flight. Seat could not have been more comfortable and Flight Attendants perfect.
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes
2016-09-26
5 of 5
Seat61A
FromChicago - Chicago Ohare Intl (ORD)
ToLondon - London Heathrow (LHR)
I thought this seat was excellent! It gave me a great view of the ground, and I got to be in the Club World with my friend! Food was great, drinks were great, and a great choice of Movies! 10/10! ALSO RECLINING/BED SEATS!!!!!!!
0 found this review helpful. Was it helpful to you? Yes